EUFEPS Annual meeting, group registration

EUFEPS (European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences) offers a special group registration for the Annual meeting "Lisbon 2023, at the edge of Europe and Science" for their Member-Societies. For at least 25 registrations there will be a 20% reduction on the participant fee.

The registration must be performed through a special registration link. The societies must inform EUFEPS the names of the participants the latest on 31st of March to get the special price. Please contact the secretary of the Finnish Pharmaceutical Society (, if you are planning to participate in the annual meeting, and are interested to join the group registration. For more information about the conference:


The Finnish pharmaceutical society is pleased to announce the call for applications for travel grants and grants for organizing a scientific meeting or conference. The application time for the grants is 1.1.-31.1.2023. Personal grants can be applied for 1) participation in scientific meetings and events and 2) for organizing a scientific meeting or conference. Grants are not awarded for past events and the grant must be used in 2023. The grant decisions are made by the board of the Finnish pharmaceutical society. The grant recipients will be informed at the beginning of March. A part of the grants will be awarded to participate in the EUFEPS annual meeting in Lisbon on May 31 – June 2, 2023.

The grants can be applied 1.1.-31.1.2023 through an application form found on the webpages.

The grant recipient is expected to give a written clarification about the use of the grant within three months of using the grant. The application time for the research grants for making scientific PhD studies is in May 2023.

FinPharmSci 2022

FinPharmSci 2022 is organized on 10th of November. Programme includes top lectures, Albert Wuokko and article awards, and, of course, networking with colleagues. Do not miss the most important networking event of the year in pharmaceutical research and sciences in Finland! The event will be held in Helsinki. More information will follow in early Autumn.

Nominations for the Albert Wuokko award for the best doctoral thesis 2019-2022 in pharmaceutics

The Finnish Pharmaceutical Society is pleased to announce the opening of the call for the biennial Albert Wuokko award for the best doctoral thesis. Anyone with a PhD degree completed in pharmaceutical sciences in Finland 1.1.2019 or later is eligible to apply for the award. The applications are to be submitted personally by the applicant. The award is 4000 euros, and it provides a wonderful opportunity for newly graduated PhDs to be recognized and honored for their valuable contribution to the pharmaceutical sciences. Albert Wuokko award is granted every second year as a thesis award, and it is the most highly recognized award in the pharmaceutical field in Finland. All those who have completed their doctoral degree in Finland in pharmaceutical research after 1.1.2019 are able to personally apply for the award. Applications should include the following information:

1) Applicant’s CV

2) Title and grade of the thesis, and a link to the electronic version of the thesis

3) Dissertation date

4) Description of the important aspects and outstanding merits of the thesis. This will provide the evaluation committee information on the PhD research and its contribution to the area of research represented, as well as the novelty, importance and originality of the research.

Applications should be sent to by August 8th, 2022

Albert Wuokko Award 2021

The Finnish Pharmaceutical Society has awarded the Albert Wuokko prize of 2021 to PhD Ulla Närhi.

The prize is 6000 euro.

Congratulations for this great achievement!

Best articele award 2021

Best article award, 500 €, has been given to:

Piotr Chmielarz, Şafak Er, Julia Konovalova, Laura Bandres, Irena Hlushchuk, Katrina Albert, Anne Panhelainen, Kelvin Luk, Mikko Airavaara, Andrii Domanskyi: GDNF/RET Signaling Pathway Activation Eliminates Lewy Body Pathology in Midbrain Dopamine Neurons

Published in Movement Disorders, volume 35, year 2020, pages 2279-2289


Research grants

Katayun Bahrami, University of Eastern Finland, 4 500 euros: Evaluation and development of LAT1 targeted ligands for Cancer Diagnostic purposes

Niina Bhattarai, Univeristy of Eastern Finland, 7 500 euros: Regulation of oxidative stress and inflammatory responses in retinal pigment epithelial cells

Iris Sokka, University of Helsinki, 9 000 euros: A Molecular Level View of a GLUT1-targeting Strategy to Boron Neutron Capture Therapy

Sofia Lisina, Åbo Akademi University, 9 000 euros: Development of mesoporous silica nanocarriers with VEGF protein embedded into the CNF-based hydrogel scaffold for wound healing promotion

Honey Bokharaie, University of Helsinki, 9 000 euros: Blocking VEGF-C activating proteases as a novel experimental cancer treatment



Finnish Pharmaceutical Society has made 50 000 euros donation to Professorship Sustainable Pharmacy in Univeristy of Helsinki